Anyone ever use smaller Blackhawk/Camelbak packs?

Items to keep you alive in the event you must evacuate: discussions of basic Survival Kits commonly called "Bug Out Bags" or "Go Bags"

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

retrospeaks
Favorite Zombie Movies: dawn of the dead

Anyone ever use smaller Blackhawk/Camelbak packs?

Post by retrospeaks » Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:48 pm

since i'm a noob, i've currently been working with this setup:

http://www.activerideshop.com/images/De ... -79263.jpg

yes, it's more of a bag designed for fashion before anything else, but i've been lugging laptops, clothes, water, and a FAK in it for well over 6 months with no problem. since my work is only about 1.5 miles from my home, for a GHB it's adequate space wise, and even thought there's no double stitching on the pack, it holds up pretty well. it's also got a hidden compartment in the back to stow away other items in a relatively easy to reach space.

well, my only gripe thus far is the lack of compartment for a hydration port so i end up lugging water bottles around. there's a compartment for hydration OR a laptop, but the way it's constructed seems better suited for a laptop because there's no ports in the bag to snake the tube through.

i was looking at a few blackhawk/camelbak smaller daypacks with hydration compartments and liked what i saw. anyone have any experience with any of these products in terms of construction and comfort?

the main packs i was taking a look at was either the Blackhawk Predator, or the Camelbak HAWG to keep in the car with stowable water in case i need to ditch my vehicle.

any other recommendations/advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks!
http://romerobrooks.com. Like CNN. Only Deader.

steve2071

Re: Anyone ever use smaller Blackhawk/Camelbak packs?

Post by steve2071 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 4:31 pm