UK Firearms Law (oppinions thread)

Discussion forum for the United Kingdom ZS chapter

Moderator: ZS Chapter Volunteers

Apache

UK Firearms Law (oppinions thread)

Post by Apache » Wed Jul 29, 2009 2:53 pm

There's a lot of criticism over the situation we have in this country but I have just gone through the process myself and found it simple, fair and straightforward.

I am a vet and I applied for my first shotgun certificate (SGC) and a firearms certificate (FAC) so I could get a .32 pistol for humane dispatch of animals (section 5).

I sent in the forms, had a call from a friendly policeman a week later, arranged a meeting the following week. He was polite and chatty and asked me a few basic questions. How I'd deal with a misfire and how I'd climb over an obstacle with a firearm. He asked me why I wanted them. Drank my tea and ate my biscuits. Told me I'd have my certificate in about 3 weeks. It took 4 1/2 but I did have a practice weapon added before it arrived so that may have delayed things.

So all in from sending in the forms to having the SGC & FAC in my hand took less than 2 months and only cost £50 for 5 years. I thought rather good value.

In a way I am glad they don't give firearms away in breakfast cereal like in America and the concept of having a loaded shotgun behind the bedroom door, for self defence, to me is abhorrent!

I found the procedure most painless and am interested in others thoughts.
crypto wrote:So, yeah, well be fucked when theres no more antibiotics, but so will all the old people without boners.

hague720
Favorite Zombie Movies: Dawn O the Dead

Re: UK Firearms Law (oppinions thread)

Post by hague720 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:10 pm

In my experience it was the other way round.In the early nineties following Hungerford and such the whole thing seemed very tightly run.