Questions about my cb radio

Discussion forum for the ZS Amateur Radio Club

Moderator: ZS Board of Directors

iamdurkee

Questions about my cb radio

Post by iamdurkee » Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:57 pm

I'm new to cb radios. I have a 23 channel Realistic onehander with the controls all built in to the mic and i love it. The radio it self is what made me buy it not needing to talk to anyone else. Now that i do plan on using it 3 years later what's all of your suggestions on antennas and amplifiers? as of right now it's being used with a 4 foot firestick. I don't know how to find out if it's working or if nobody is on also. Hate to be the :clap: in the group.

iamdurkee

Re: Questions about my cb radio

Post by iamdurkee » Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:59 pm

I also apologize upfront believing this is for more of a HAM radio crowd. I'm kind of dumb and just looking for some help. I build cars and know nothing of electronics.

grennels

Post by grennels » Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:15 pm

Tune to channel 19 and go out near the interstate. Make sure the squelch isn't turned up too far.

If it's working you'll know it.
Shot 'em, now I'm gonna hang 'em, then I'm gonna burn 'em!
Damn Zombies. Can't ever be too dead to suit me.

- with apologies to Larry McMurtry

angelofwar
Favorite Zombie Movies: The Walking Dead, I Am Legend

Post by angelofwar » Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:56 pm