It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:04 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:34 am 

A lot of preppers plan to move out of the city into rural areas as part of a plan to eventually go completely off the grid, and I thought I would post a little bit of info on how to deal with REMC's and what to expect from them.

As far as my background goes, I have been involved with REMC's (on the dispatch side) for almost 4 years now as a phone rep, dispatcher and floor supervisor. It gives me a unique perspective on disaster preperations and I wanted to share some of what I know with ZS. I'm not an electrician so I have no special insight in that area, but I know how crews are dispatched and the majority of this post will be about that side of the business.

So what is an REMC? REMC stands for Rural Energy Management Co-op. Not all REMCs use the REMC acronym and they are often known by other names. The basic difference between an REMC and a major energy provider like Duke or IPL is that most REMCs do not generate power at a power plant; instead they buy power from the major providers that is transferred through metering points to your local grid and then take over maintenance of the lines for far flung rural areas. Many REMCs are structured along co-op lines but not all of them are; if your bill refers to you as "Members" rather than customers then you have a cooperative REMC. The differences are minimal.