Upgrading perimeter security - pic heavy

Topics in this category pertain to planning. Discussions include how to prepare yourself, your family and your community for catastrophes and what you plan to do when they hit you.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

DurzoBlint38

Upgrading perimeter security - pic heavy

Post by DurzoBlint38 » Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:48 am

I would like to share what I have done thus far to beef up the perimeter security at my home. These upgrades are mostly geared towards making my house less attractive to burglars and harder to force entry. I live in a suburban area in a city of about 80,000. What I have done at my house is by far not the only things that can be done and in fact I'm not finished with my "upgrades". I'm also not an expert on this subject so take any thing I have done with a grain of salt. I apologize for the poor picture quality.

First I'll start with signage to warn off any potential prowler before they ever step foot on my property. Signage just let's a "smart" criminal know to keep moving, easier pickings down the street.
This place is protected by a security system - keep moving. These kind of signs can be found at places like home depot or online.

Don't bother knocking on my door to check and see if I'm home or not.

Hop my fence at your own risk. It's locked and posted as private property so if you get caught back there you'll have no excuse. Just because I don't have a dog does not mean I can't easily make it look like I have one.
I got this dog house for free.

Night prowlers hate light. All my outdoor lights are motion sensors.

What the heck, this door looks likes it's been reinforced. I wonder if it would take me to long to kick it down?