TV survival shows, are they worth watching or not?

Topics in this category pertain to planning. Discussions include how to prepare yourself, your family and your community for catastrophes and what you plan to do when they hit you.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

texhepcat

TV survival shows, are they worth watching or not?

Post by texhepcat » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:58 pm

I just got done watching a couple of episodes of "Dual Survival" on Discovery, and was just wondering what the general consensus on these shows is. It seemed to me that some of the info might be worth while, but television being what it is I find myself a bit skeptical. As a relative noob i'd like some input into which, if any, of the survival shows is worth spending time on.

As a self employed artist who is responsible for design / production / scheduling / book keeping / sales / ect, I have a very limited amount of free time to donate to the idiot box. I'd just like that time to not be a total waste. Any and all opinions will be greatly appreciated.

Chris@MTCT

Re: TV survival shows, are they worth watching or not?

Post by Chris@MTCT » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:07 pm

Dual survival is pretty good, they stage some things but for the most part its pretty good. Survivor man with Les Stroud is good IMHO. As they say in the wild stay away from and dont feed Bear!!
sigboy40 wrote: I carry around magical kit faeries that keep all my stuff in place. This way I dont lose anything.
Instructor at Milcopp Tactical

CEO of http://movementtocontact.com/index.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Please also like us on Facebook!

Fletch
Location: 25,000 light years from the galactic core, spinning at approx. 67,000mph on a tiny rock called Erf

Post by Fletch » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:11 pm

Anything by Ray Mears comes highly recommended by me, also 'Alone in the Wilderness' is awesomesauce

Quotations by Ray Mears include:

"Bushcraft is what you carry in your mind and your muscles."