It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:53 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:36 pm 

Well I recently bought a used mountain Bike and decided if I'm going to start riding I might as well make it capable of carrying some gear. We are a family of 6 and own one vehicle so any time I get the urge to spend some time out in the woods its a act of congress planning the transportation arrangements. Enter new used bike, I picked up a early 90s Univega Alpina, chromolly frame, new tires and bla bla bla in short good intro bike and cheap like me lol.
First order of business rear cargo platform and panniers. Im a instrumentation tech in the oil and gas industry so I have plenty of 3/8" .035 wall stainless steel tubing laying around the shop. I spent a couple of hours cruising the internet checking out the different designs for racks and decided I wanted more surface area on top with the ability to mount panniers if I chose. Im not planning on riding tight single tracks so I laid out the top frame for a 8" width with a ABS deck plate and a beaver tail style fender.
tonight I was able to get all the tubes bent and ready for welding in the morning. The frame has factory mounts for equipment already welded and machined on it win for me. Pics in the morning its time for bed.

"I don't always kill zombies in the apocalypse, but when I do, I wear a Zombie Squad T-shirt."

My bob (bugout bike) on a budget project.
http://zombiehunters.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=88262

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:19 am 
ZS Member
ZS Member

If you're doing the fab yourself, you can look for and emulate racks popular with long distance touring cyclists, particularly the globe trotters. Old Man Mountain is one example.
These tourers tend to use mountain bike
rigs as the parts are available more widely... and many folks figure they're tougher than the average touring bike.