It is currently Thu Apr 19, 2018 12:46 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:03 am 

So I'm branching out from the firearms forum with my first post to FA. Not surprisingly, this post is still about guns :awesome: what can I say I'm addicted to firearms.

Anyway..

I'm building my first trauma kit. It's mostly for GSW/knife wounds but could be used also for wilderness first aid. I am a total noob about FA but learn quickly so bear with me please.

This kit is residing on my chest rig and is already packed pretty full but could be repacked to free up space. I am looking for constructive criticism and suggestions on what to add or remove.

Current contents:
Israeli bandage 4" x 2
Celox 35g granules x 1
Quikclot sponge 25g x1
1 pair Nitrile gloves
Antiseptic wipes x 5
5"x 9" Trauma pad (abdominal pad) x 4
Duct tape 2"x 26"
Triangular bandage x 1
4"x 4" gauze x 2
2"x 2" gauze x 2
3" conforming gauze x 1
Chapstick x 1
Sunscreen packet x 2
Hand sanitizer packet x 2
Poison oak cleanser towlette x 2
Acetaminophen 300mg x 20

Things I'd like to add:
Trauma shears
Chest seal
SWAT tourniquet (Izzy bandage may double as TQ?)
Smelling salts
Extra gloves

Thoughts?

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:25 pm 

Tell us what kind of training you have, that makes a difference in what 'stuff' you should carry.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:46 pm 

Little to none only what I've read about in books, or seen in how to videos. Was certified in CPR years ago but I have zero formal training, hence the 'noob' part of my initial post.

Some training would be nice when finances allow.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:59 pm 

AS556 wrote:
Little to none only what I've read about in books, or seen in how to videos. Was certified in CPR years ago but I have zero formal training, hence the 'noob' part of my initial post.

Some training would be nice when finances allow.