New to Communications

Topics on Radio (CB, GMRS, Ham, etc), GPS, Smoke Signals, or whatever else you can use to talk to other people who are not within yelling distance.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

TabWVK
Favorite Zombie Movies: 28 days later, 28 weeks later,

New to Communications

Post by TabWVK » Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:33 pm

I am new to communications, have the GMRS license sitting for the Amatuer Tech license on Saturday. Any advice? Gear wise I have a Yaesu FT-8800R, a couple of UV-5R's, a diamond MR77, DBJ-1 and a regulated power supply, anything else I am missing, probably, but I'm still new!!!! :-)

KYZHunters

Re: New to Communications

Post by KYZHunters » Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:49 pm

Only the 'what now?' that hits a lot of new hams. Get involved with your local club? Work with your local ARES/RACES group? Get involved with CERT or a similar group that always needs communicators?

Too often folks get licensed and either hear nothing on their local repeater or get what they perceive to be the cold shoulder from local hams and get turned off. Sadly, you'll have to meet local hams more than half way, we're kind of an odd bunch; we grew up building crap in our parents' basement for a reason.

Good luck on your test.
crypto wrote:It's not that you were being "harsh" so much as a "douchebag".

ineffableone
Favorite Zombie Movies: Undead, Dead Alive/Braindead, Shaun of the Dead, Zombieland, 28 days, 28 Weeks Later, I Am Legend, Resident Evil franchise, Serenity (I would call Revers pretty damn zombie), Versus, Black Sheep

Post by ineffableone » Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:17 pm

Good luck with the test.

I am still new myself and am hoping to take my tech and general on the 22nd. Sounds like you have a good setup. Maybe you might want one of these to add to your set up viewtopic.php?f=42&t=115678 :crazy:
"Once a man has seen society's black underbelly, he can never turn his back on it. Never pretend, like you do, that it doesn't exist"