Learning to hunt

Discuss lifestyle changes to better survive disasters. This category is for topics pertaining to being self reliant such as DIY, farming, alternative energy, autonomous solutions to water collection and waste removal, etc.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

Db30513

Learning to hunt

Post by Db30513 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:51 am

Hello longtime lurker, 1st time poster.
I have always wanted to learn how to hunt and learn how to provide meat for myself and my family, but I really have no idea what to do. No one in my family hunts and I really dont know of any resources for first timers like me. My state does provide a Learn To Hunt program but I really dont if it is worth it. Are there any resources for a complete newbie like me can learn to hunt?

JeeperCreeper
ZS Member
ZS Member
Favorite Zombie Movies: Twilight... making zombies of our future generations

Re: Learning to hunt

Post by JeeperCreeper » Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:27 pm

Db30513 wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:51 am
Hello longtime lurker, 1st time poster.
I have always wanted to learn how to hunt and learn how to provide meat for myself and my family, but I really have no idea what to do. No one in my family hunts and I really dont know of any resources for first timers like me. My state does provide a Learn To Hunt program but I really dont if it is worth it. Are there any resources for a complete newbie like me can learn to hunt?
Not sure your area, but if you look into a sportsman's or gun club, they will have people and resources to try out. Even if there is an application or meetings or fees or sponsorship stipulations, if you call and explain your situation, most places will work with you.

My other suggestion, get a .22 and take a hunter's safety course. Then watch a weekends worth of YouTube or Meat Eater on Netflix, and then go squirrel hunting on public land.