It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:38 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 'Mortar' from scratch?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:02 am 

I've been attempting Google-Fu on this off and on for several years now to no avail, I think part of my issue may be I'm not using the right terms. So here is what I need to know-

How do you make a 'building paste' from natural, organic materials to use with stone. You know, like how the 'old timers' built ~real~ stacked stone fire places and cottages.

This will be for our building projects in AK (duh! :crazy: ), so sand will be in abundance but I'm not sure yet what other raw materials we will have available.

Learn me somethin' new, fellow ZSers!

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:09 am 

Lime, water and sand pretty much. Search "making lime mortar" on google...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:28 am 

ZS Engineering Department to the rescue!

Thanks, Confucius!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:52 pm 
ZS Member
ZS Member

I know nothing first hand, but I find this topic interesting.

I do remember something about using poop as an ingredient replacement but I can't remember if it's mortar or cement or bricks.

Either way, I found this cool little website... probably more basic than you need but it broke stuff down for my dumb ole self

http://www.survival-manual.com/cement.php

Never knew cement was so complicated... dang...

zero11010 wrote:
The girlfriend is a good shot with a 10/22.
Her secondary offense will be nagging.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:30 pm 

Find a masonry supply store. They can steer you in the right direction. You want "cement" not concrete. There are several formulations - basically soft to hard. You mix the cement with sand to make mortar. The cement used for modern hard fired brick is too hard for old bricks or stone masonry.