It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:41 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:41 pm 

This past weekend I started playing Mount & Blade: Napoleonic Wars.

It's an online multiplayer game where most of the players are armed with early 19th Century weapons. Obviously the pace is quite different than most online FPS games like Battlefield or CoD.

I'm really enjoying this game so far. The closest thing I can compare it to in feel is Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, but Chivalry is a faster-paced game with a better melee system. They are really pretty different from each other, and their similarities are mostly in that they are different from normal shooters. (Also they both seem to lack built-in voice chat and rely on text chat, making it harder to coordinate in pickup games but a lot easier to ignore the thirteen years olds screaming racial slurs.)

I would recommend buying this game if it goes on sale. It's pretty old, but it has enough of a following that they normally charge ~$30 for it but Steam had it on sale for ~$13.

I've pretty much just been playing siege games, where the defenders have to hold out against the attackers for a set amount of time. Team numbers are the same, but defenders only get a set number of lives while attackers get infinite respawns.

The controls are simple, but I'm still trying to figure out how everything works. For instance, I'm not sure if bullet drop and leading running targets make any difference because everything is so inaccurate that it makes it hard to tell.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:55 pm 

Can you use a controller ( in my case x-box 360 through the USB on the computer) as I am not great with the mouse/keyboard, at the same time, type of game?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:48 pm