It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:55 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:40 pm 

First, I want to make it clear that I am not an expert, not even close, just a guy who played with some rope and figured out how to wrap a handle. With that said, let me also be clear that this tutorial is intended for a reasonably logical person with at least some critical thinking skills, i.e. “If I pull this, then this will happen.” I will take it through in the least number of steps possible while still conveying what I believe to be a clear depiction of how to make a neatly wrapped paracord handle for your (blank).

Let me begin by giving a few pointers:
1.)
    Expect to rewrap your handle at least once, because you will either have too much cord or too little. I suggest you make a guestimate but don’t cut any cord off your spool to begin with. Start wrapping until you get half way down your handle (or a third), then pinch or mark the extent to which you’ve used the cord and unwrap to use that length as a guide for how much to cut from the spool (I’m assuming you have a spool of paracord).
2.)
    Make everything tight as you go. It might be difficult to get the start of your wrap tight, but once you’ve make several passes around the handle, try to work the cord at the start tight by pushing along the path you’ve already done (follow?). After you’ve made that reasonably tight, keep the cord tight after each pass around the handle (I’ll go into more detail later). Keeping it tight will stop it from unwrapping or slipping under your grip.
3.)
    Be consistent. You’re just creating a pattern, as long as you repeat it, it will look good. If you keep changing it, it will look bad. Simple, right?
4.)
    Have patience, it took me a couple hours to wrap the 14 inches of my tomahawk.

(figure 1)

Let’s get started.
1.)