It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:23 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: KHHI Scourge testing!
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 4:05 am 

It's me again! For those who have forgotten or didn't see the first time around, I'm an australian designer currently collaborating with Khukuri House Handicraft Industry on the production of a $100 zombie/apocalypse khukuri, working with the feedback and input from various members of this very forum. Previous threads can be found here for development etc.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=105392
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=101203
http://ww42.zombiehunters.org/forum/vie ... 3&t=101743

Been a while since my last update but things have been slow. There are a few things in this world that can't be sped up and seemingly (Unless JoergS can rig up an intercontinental khukuri slingshot) mailing khukuris from nepal to australia is one of those things.
However progress has been made. I've given the knife a hell of a beating and will list some of the things I've put it through right here, in order of craziness.

Delimbed many trees, ranging from pine trees to the dreaded Red Ironbark.
Debarked branches
Hacked branches into smaller pieces
Split enough logs for three fires. It handled this very well indeed, better than my hatchet and with practice, almost as good as my small axe.
Cut up tree roots.
Carved stakes, hammered in said stakes with the pommel and side of the blade (preferred).
Made feathersticks and shavings.
Batonned through some logs like a pro. The sharpened back edge doesn't provide as much difficulty as many of you had assumed. Indeed, it does cut into the baton, but instead of getting stuck it just blasts chips out of the baton. This shows that not all the power is getting transferred, but it still works pretty awesomely.