Tough times indicator in my area (Central Va)

Stuff that’s happening in the world that may pertain to our survival. Please keep political debates off the forum.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

stimpy321972
Favorite Zombie Movies: dawn of the dead, shaun of the dead

Tough times indicator in my area (Central Va)

Post by stimpy321972 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:22 am

Background:

I am a nurse in a trauma center in Central Virginia, It is the only trauma center/medical center in the state that is partially funded by the state. We have about 8,000 employee's working for the hospital/medical college and another 1,000 or so contract workers, that do housekeeping and other support type jobs.
We just had a organization wide meeting this a.m., we were told that in line with the state 10-20% budget cuts that are being implemented, that our reimbursement would be "substantially" cut, Read= Layoff's. Initial, estimates are about 2-5% of the workforce should be reduced right now and more to come later "possibly", Read= more to come, soon.
Interesting, because we were told about a month ago that we were one of the "forbbiden" items in regards to reducing budget... because even though our budget/work force gets slashed, if someone/anyone walks or is carried, dragged in, we have to see and treat them, whether they have insurance or not... We have to take patients from other hospitals state that are indigent and cause that particular hospital undue financial hardship.

Not really pertinent to most of you guys/gals because the news is full of companies downsizing everyday and I am sure a lot of you are or will be touched by this "economy" I tend to think along with a lot of the independent news guys; that this economic downturn will get very ugly, very soon.

My only thoughts to prepare for the SHTF is buy ammo, beans and gold.......
MaxRite wrote:
BigBossMan wrote: My AR is a precision weapon.