BOB TOOLS

Items to keep you alive in the event you must evacuate: discussions of basic Survival Kits commonly called "Bug Out Bags" or "Go Bags"

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

sbjerry9

BOB TOOLS

Post by sbjerry9 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 5:01 pm

What kind of tools do you have in your BOB / EDC / BOV?

SRO1911

Re: BOB TOOLS

Post by SRO1911 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 7:02 pm

MY EDC includes a Klein 10-1, the smallest standard size irwin channel locks, fluke non-contact probe, 2AA mini-maglite led, Mora, lockback style box cutter, sharpie, and other 'normal' stuff.
Its a part of how I make my living now, and those few tools are sufficient for what I would guess would be 90 percent of my service calls - - as a maintenance supervisor for several apt. complexes with over 600 units combined.
I hate having to go back to the truck for something.
I keep an identical set in my BOB - and add an eight inch pry bar, a telescoping magnet with mirror attachment, a 6 inch crescent, and a large pill bottle full of fasteners including various sheet rock screws, nails, hammer staples, small coil of tie wire, some small tin strips (1/2"x2-3")

whole mess weight little and is very versatile.

I know people talk about toting a full tool kit, or major demo tools like a FUBAR or wrecking bar and sledge hammer... more power to them.
If I need to get into something, I will take my time and find the least destructive method.
I do not anticipate having time to rebuild my duramax on the side of the road in an emergency... if its bad enough to warrant bugging out in the first place then its bad enough to keep moving.

The few things I do carry all have very clear multiple purposes - with little to no excess weight or bells & whistles.

vawilderness
ZS Member
ZS Member