The Beginning

Zombie or Post Apocalyptic themed fiction/stories.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

Deschain
Favorite Zombie Movies: 28 Days Later, 28 Weeks Later, Shaun of the Dead, Fido

The Beginning

Post by Deschain » Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:28 pm

A/N: It's a the first chapter. Can I has commentary?

Chapter One

They all stared at me, expecting a story. I pulled my old comforter closer, wrapping myself up tight. I was a little embarrassed.

"Listen, it was nothing big."

"You were there in the beginning, weren't you?"

"Yeah."

"That's something big, isn't it? How many people were there for the start, and got out alive?"

"We don't know."

"So? Get on with it."

I look at the other survivors, cock my thumb towards Jeremy.

"He was there too, y'know."

"Just tell us the damn story," Bear rumbled around a mouthful of beans.

So I did.

I worked as a janitor at St. Michael's Hospital downtown. I don't have college, couldn't afford it. Barely got my high school diploma. I had been there two years when it all started, I think. Pretty shitty job, but it paid the bills. Mostly ended up that I was cleaning up someone else's piss, or their puke, or shit, or blood. Hated it, but... it's not like I had too many people banging down my door and offering me a job. So I took it, telling myself it was temporary, moved out of my folks' home...and ended up staying there, because I couldn't find anything that paid better with my education.

At any rate, me and Jeremy there were working the nightshift. It wasn't a dark and stormy night. In fact, it was nice but kinda humid. Most of the smog was gone. I went out for a break around two in the morning. I finished up my smoke, came inside, and Jeremy was there. Said he had a fatass DOA. So, we had to bring him to the morgue. His partner was feeling sick from trying to give the guy CPR, and Jeremy said he couldn't get him on the slab by himself. He's my buddy, so I say 'sure'.