First Handgun recommendations

Handgun, Pistol and Revolver topics

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

DEEPfrom1

Post by DEEPfrom1 » Tue Sep 18, 2012 1:02 pm

Hey all,

Just applying for my pistol permit now (not full carry yet) Should have my restricted carry back in about 3 months (takes a while to apply etc). I have a few ideas and a few months to decide what to get, I do know that it will be in 9mm form. I have only shot a G26

So far I am leaning towards the S&W Shield 9mm.

Others I am considering:
-Glock 26 ( Great capacity, but the grip is a little thick for my like)
-kel-tec pf9 ( fits my budget best, I am not aficionado of guns or will I probably even know the difference)
-XD sub9
-Kahr cm9
-luger lc9 (not really a fan, looks and feels cheap) Have held this unit.

However I am open to all options! Keep in mind, I am new to this and working on a college kid budget.

* I won't be able to ccw for at least 1 year, it is a very long process here in upstate NY. When I am able to carry, I cannont on campus or my work, so I wont be carrying much at all lo,.

Thanks!

-Merk

majorhavoc
ZS Donor
ZS Donor
Favorite Zombie Movies: 28 Days Later, ZombieLand, Dawn of the Dead

Re: First Handgun recommendations

Post by majorhavoc » Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:12 pm

DEEPfrom1 wrote: * I won't be able to ccw for at least 1 year, it is a very long process here in upstate NY. When I am able to carry, I cannont on campus or my work, so I wont be carrying much at all lo,.
-Merk
Help us understand why you're so interested in tiny, subcompact semi-autos if the reality is you won't be carrying much at all. They certainly won't be much fun to shoot in comparison to a full size or even a compact frame 9 mm.
Last edited by majorhavoc on Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AKFTW
Favorite Zombie Movies: Shaun of the Dead, Dawn of the Dead (remake), Land of the Dead, 28 Days Later, and Zombieland!

Post by AKFTW » Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:01 pm