It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:25 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:08 pm 

This is just me putting some info out there on my personal scenario regarding bug-in/out scenarios, but first some background. I am married, 24 year old male, wife is 25, daughter is 5, son is 3. We have 3 vehicles, no pets, limited income, and live in an apartment in the desert US southwest, in a relatively quiet side of town.

The Good- I am a mechanic, and while not very well versed in the in-depth mechanical repairs, I know enough to get any old beater running after sitting for decades. My wife and I are both employed(her not for too much longer due to social security reasons). Both of us have reasonable firearms training, but she needs more. We have a small cache of firearms in various calibers and ranges (.22/.410ga for small game, 7.62x39/12ga for defense and large game, .380ACP/9mm for defense) and a small(imo) cache of ammunition. I am also in the process of building an AR15 for my wife, due to the small recoil impulse and high capacity. In our area, we have a small variety of small game(Gambel's Quail, coyote, cottontail rabbit) nearby. We also have a longtime friend and roommate who, in such a scenario as bug-in/out would be right beside us, at least at first-he is single and has his own life aspirations, so we would never hold him back. He would possibly choose to stay with us wherever we go, but he is very attached to his family. With him and his truck, we now have 4 vehicles. He also has decent firearms training. Most importantly, all of us have open minds, a willingness to survive, and are willing to learn.