Search found 6787 matches

by Jamie
Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:19 pm
Forum: Other Gear
Topic: Earl - Backcountry Survival Tablet
Replies: 69
Views: 12207

Re: Earl - Backcountry Survival Tablet

I got out ... asked for, and received, my refund.

J
by Jamie
Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:24 pm
Forum: Zombie Training Films
Topic: "Walking Dead" Cable Series
Replies: 12404
Views: 488582

Re: "Walking Dead" Cable Series

Holy crap, has TWD gotten boring ....

Jamie
by Jamie
Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:21 am
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Bug Out Gear Deals (Post 'em when you find 'em) I
Replies: 6368
Views: 896051

Re: Bug Out Gear Deals (Post 'em when you find 'em) I

Noctadon44 wrote:Massive sale at sierratradingpost.com. Code SITESUN314 gets you 20% off order $75 and above at checkout in addition to the 25% sale they are having on most goods. Picked up some nice smartwool and icebreaker stuff
I ended up saving a bunch of money on my order ... Thanks!

Jamie
by Jamie
Fri Jan 10, 2014 6:48 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Andrew Skurka's Fancy Feast Stove!
Replies: 11
Views: 1519

Re: Andrew Skurka's Fancy Feast Stove!

Boondock wrote:I use HEET. It's at every gas station. About an ounce will boil a canteen cup.
+1 to HEET ... yellow bottle, blue label ... it's the way to go.

Jamie
by Jamie
Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:06 pm
Forum: Fiction
Topic: Completed Works, Links to Finished ZS fiction UD/9/5/13
Replies: 46
Views: 16102

Re: Completed Works, Links to Finished ZS fiction UD/9/5/13

My second full-length novel was just published. http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51IPQTcmPRL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg Caretakers Dee Crocker vanished nearly 60 years ago, and only one man can sift through the decades of secrets and ciphers to uncover the truth behind a shocking Adirondack my...
by Jamie
Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:52 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Andrew Skurka's Fancy Feast Stove!
Replies: 11
Views: 1519

Re: Andrew Skurka's Fancy Feast Stove!

I used a vienna sausage can to make a replacement for my cat-can stove a week or so ago, and I would highly recommend it. The base of the can is wider, hence a bit more stable. It also can hold more fuel, for longer burn times in the cold. It still feels incredibly light, given those improvements. J...
by Jamie
Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:05 pm
Forum: Personal Experiences
Topic: What Did You Do Today To Prepare?
Replies: 6578
Views: 263741

Re: What Did You Do Today To Prepare?

Spent the weekend camping and paddling with my son: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 33e2f54851" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Jamie
by Jamie
Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:59 am
Forum: Family Prep
Topic: Storing dog food
Replies: 15
Views: 3120

Re: Storing dog food

My dog food comes in 30 pound plastic bags, and I keep the food, once opened, in 2 5-gallon buckets with airtight tops. I keep a 2 month supply in hand, and rotate through the bags to get rid of the oldest ones first.

Jamie
by Jamie
Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:20 am
Forum: First Aid
Topic: Pick 5 meds...
Replies: 62
Views: 3920

Pick 6 meds...

Benadryl tongue tabs
Advil gel caps
Tylenol gel caps
Claritin-D tabs
Pepto-Bismol chew-tabs
Neosporin to go spray

Yeah, that's 6, but I can fit enough of the first four for a week in a single scrip-bottle, so I'm ok going over.

Jamie
by Jamie
Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:12 am
Forum: Other Gear
Topic: Earl - Backcountry Survival Tablet
Replies: 69
Views: 12207

Re: Earl - Backcountry Survival Tablet

They have a real crappy forum set up. There is about zero communication from the "earl team." From what I'm reading there, people are pissed due to this and I can't blame them. Money is starting to be pulled out as well, and I'm thinking about drawing mine out as well. I've been in touch with my CC...
by Jamie
Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:58 pm
Forum: Fiction
Topic: Completed Works, Links to Finished ZS fiction UD/9/5/13
Replies: 46
Views: 16102

Re: Completed Works, Links to Finished ZS fiction

crypto wrote:LOL, no love for Raptorman anymore?
Et tu, crypto?

Asking why nobody linked to his books in a post that...doesn't link to his books... :wink:

Jamie
by Jamie
Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:51 am
Forum: Books
Topic: All of my books are on sale for 99 cents!
Replies: 0
Views: 821

All of my books are on sale for 99 cents!

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-rHK8dEGepIo/UfUZuK3xKzI/AAAAAAAALVM/1hwAJ82SnQA/s1600/bookads.jpg http://www.amazon.com/Jamie-Sheffield/e/B00AVJVYHS" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; For the first week of August, 8/1 - 8/8, all of my ebooks will be reduced in price to 99 cents, and I wanted ...
by Jamie
Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:54 am
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Hanging a Hammock, and other hammock questions.
Replies: 24
Views: 1287

Re: Hanging a Hammock...?

I have whoopie slings for all of my hammocks, and highly recommend them...fast, easy strong!

Jamie
by Jamie
Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:20 pm
Forum: First Aid
Topic: WWYD for the First Aid section: Rusty Nail.
Replies: 106
Views: 9606

Re: WWYD for the First Aid section: Rusty Nail.

Hot baths to loosen and open things up, salt or vodka to kills things in the wound, rinse and repeat and pack/dress with anitbiotic goo as far in the hole as I could stand to jam the nozzle of the goo tube...

Jamie
by Jamie
Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:06 pm
Forum: First Aid
Topic: WWYD for the First Aid section: Rusty Nail.
Replies: 106
Views: 9606

Re: WWYD for the First Aid section: Rusty Nail.

crypto wrote:I'm trying to avoid antibiotics here, after being told by the pro medics in 2 other threads that lay people don't need to stock antibiotics, that they are extremely dangerous, and no one knows how to use them.

Then skip the first 5 words and read the rest of my post... :wink:

Jamie
by Jamie
Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:50 pm
Forum: First Aid
Topic: WWYD for the First Aid section: Rusty Nail.
Replies: 106
Views: 9606

Re: WWYD for the First Aid section: Rusty Nail.

Start taking antibiotics...failing that, I'd boil some salt (or salty) water, and once it cooled a bit, soak my foot in it, and repeat as needed...failing that, I'd soak my foot in a vodka bath to try and kill off the bugs...also, wash and dress the wnd with tons of antibiotic goo, trying to squish ...
by Jamie
Sun Jul 14, 2013 8:49 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???
Replies: 30
Views: 3150

Re: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???

I think more of what Jamie was saying was the market base. Kifaru has developed a rep among people who need to be rough on gear and demand it to take it. No true ultra light gear could. So if you sell on the "built kifaru tough" kinda rep those guys aren't going to be happy. The sleeping in their c...
by Jamie
Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:22 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???
Replies: 30
Views: 3150

Re: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???

So...are you disagreeing with my original assertion that Kifaru making ultralight backpacks was a bad idea... Or disagreeing with kifaru's decision that their making ultralight backpacks was a bad idea... Or disagreeing with the legions/majority of outdoor gear enthusiasts who thought that Kifaru ma...
by Jamie
Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:52 am
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???
Replies: 30
Views: 3150

Re: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???

It's a bit like Range Rover trying to make a Prius...

Jamie
by Jamie
Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:11 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???
Replies: 30
Views: 3150

Re: Kifaru Ultralights, whos thinking of getting one???

Lightweight Kifaru seems a lot like Jumbo Shrimp... :wink: I have an ultralight pack, but wouldn't dream of going to Kifaru for one, having seen/handled their packs before... Jamie - nfa I called it 2 years ago...just sayin' They make really sturdy packs...really heavy, really sturdy packs...they d...
by Jamie
Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:53 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Andrew Skurka's Fancy Feast Stove!
Replies: 11
Views: 1519

Re: Andrew Skurka's Fancy Feast Stove!

The cat-can stove is simple and easy and cheap and light and works about as well as any alky stove that I've tried...I'm a big fan!

Jamie
by Jamie
Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:38 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Bug-Out Belts?
Replies: 16
Views: 2209

Re: Bug-Out Belts?

I tried a loaded belt, and found that I much preferred a backpack...the trick (for me) is to stick with a small backpack, because I will always fill any available space with more stuff.

I'm a big fan of those backpacks that are essentially hydration-bag carriers plus a bit of extra room.

Jamie
by Jamie
Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:21 am
Forum: Fiction
Topic: Completed Works, Links to Finished ZS fiction UD/9/5/13
Replies: 46
Views: 16102

Re: Completed Works, Links to Finished ZS fiction

My latest book, "Bound for Home" was just published. It's my third book, all concerned with the same protagonist, Tyler Cunningham. https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/q77/1016702_10151726378122697_1521065864_n.jpg Amazon Link Fans of Carl Hiaasen, Lawrence Block, and John Sandford will enjo...
by Jamie
Sat Jun 29, 2013 3:44 pm
Forum: Bug Out Gear
Topic: Bug Out Gear Deals (Post 'em when you find 'em) I
Replies: 6368
Views: 896051

Re: Bug Out Gear Deals (Post 'em when you find 'em) I

Remember when this thread didn't suck? Israeli type 80 NBC gas mask filter. Sale Price - $7.60 - eligible for Amazon Prime and Super Saver Shipping Normal MSRP - $12.99 Note: I don't care if the price changes before you can buy one. I don't care if you like this deal. Don't ask for or give a review...

Go to advanced search