It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:57 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Tactical home sewing
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:19 am 

I thought it was time I gave something back after all of the information I have pulled from here over the years so I figured I would write a little about something I know a little about and that is sewing. Let me start by saying that I am totally self taught, so sometimes my grasp of terminology can be a little tenuous, and I may miss a technique here or there that others are aware of and I am not, so feel free to chime in if you think I have missed something (I know I am not the only stitcher on this forum).

The focus of this is on the home sewing machine. Usually for tactical equipment, one requires an industrial machine, but for most of us, we really don't have access to or the funding for an industrial machine when we start out and frankly, if you only need a couple of pieces, why get one? So what I am going to attempt to do here is to condense 5 years of trial and error into a short piece about what works and what doesn't when using a home machine to make your own gear. What I am not going to do is discuss lace, doilies, how to make pants or Christmas vests, just to be clear.

So where to start? Most of us have a project or two that we would like to work on, be it a chest rig, magazine pouch, EDC pouch (which is where I started) or simply lengthening (or shortening) a bag strap. So, go dig out your mothers sewing machine and lets have a look at it.

This is what I started with, it is an old White sewing machine that the wife purchased from Wal-mart about 25 years ago, and I still use it from time to time depending on what I am doing.

Not my photo but one from the web, but this is exactly the machine I used for years.

If you want to get more in depth than I will here, I can recommend the complete idiots guide to sewing.

Your sewing machine