Zombie Squad

We make dead things deader
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 3:09 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:37 am 
ZS Member
ZS Member

As the post title says, I am just beginning prepping. Now although it appears to be common sense (a department I am no doubt lacking in) what is the best foods and such to prep. So far we have a couple of the basics such as tinned beans, beans and sausages, meatballs, new potatoes, mixed fruit and about 15kg of Pasta/Spaghetti. I then grabbed myself 20 litres of bottled water but now i'm a bit stumped. I want to put together a shopping list, which I can buy bits off of each week to then add to my food storage so basically I just want ideas of what foods are good to get and why. I am trying to do this as cheaply as possible, and I'm limited to purchasing from a main supermarket such as Tesco/Morrisons/Asda and can't really buy in bulk.

Thanks,
Svothe

Images of current preps: (Sorry about picture quality its quite dark up there, and taken on an Iphone without flash. oh and just using links as don't have time to resize at the moment.)
http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee18 ... G_0442.jpg
http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee18 ... G_0443.jpg
http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee18 ... G_0522.jpg
http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee18 ... G_0523.jpg

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:46 am 
ZS Global Moderator
ZS Global Moderator

Iceland does 5 litres water for a quid or maybe two now. That is what I used for water prepping.

The best food to buy is food you and your family already eat. No use buying rice and beans if they prefer pasta (but rice and beans is very good so get them on it if they don't like it.)

Don't forget some 'treats' as well - odd pack of biscuits or tinned fruit.

Cry 'God for Harry! England and Saint George!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:05 pm 
ZS Member
ZS Member