It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:07 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:59 am 

I had a guy with a ground level fall due to a diabetic event and was wondering your opinions on the choice to maintain c-spine stablization. I entered the scene (I'm an EMT but I was not there in a professional capacity) and saw a male laying on the ground moaning in pain, with an obvious dislocated shoulder. He told me he had blacked out and fallen. I did not see any other issues apart from the very painful shoulder, but then he started saying his back was hurting very badly. I chose to hold C-spine until the medics arrived, and they sort of seemed confused at why I was doing so.

I was taught that ground level falls aren't a serious risk for spinal injury, but that if you have indicators to immobilize c-spine. To me, he had loss of consciousness and back pain, so I was concerned enough to do it, even though I was willing to bet there was no major injury there. Either way, I'd love to hear what you guys think. Overzealous or prudent precaution?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:30 pm 

I probably would have done the asme thing. I'm no longer a medic, but the side of caution always previals.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:54 pm 

Please describe the pt
Tall, short, obese, young, old - what? How did you determine this was a diabetic event?

A dislocated shoulder from a standing fall indicates (to me anyway) an underlying condition past diabetes. What kind, if any, history did you get?

thx

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:12 pm 

When it comes to any fall from any height, you can never go wrong with holding c-spine, especially if the dude said he blacked out.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:25 pm 

Cspine. Pt had LOC then fell. Risk is 5% for injury. Also he dislocated his should from the fall. It isn't much harder to damage the neck. Cspine no questions asked. It takes 5 minutes.

Ya did the right thing by taking cspine