Zombie Squad

We make dead things deader
It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:11 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:37 pm 

Has anyone rubbed/impregnated a jacket with one of these waxes in order to increase the water repellancy?

I'm considering getting a new jacket with a heavy synthetic outer shell, because I'm abrasion paranoid. I have no experience with GoreTex, so I'd be paranoid about damaging it. I don't trust silicone sprays after doing an ALICE pack with marginal results.

I'm not even sure if it's worth the effort - I'm looking at a Duluth Trading Superdot combo. Right now I'm running my issued Gempler's PVC suit, it's nearly identical to their "Bang for your Buck" combination, and it's not roomy enough for cold weather insulation.

What sayeth the hive?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:35 pm 

My only experience with a wax on a garment is the Australian Duster (Kakadu brand), which I've had for nearly 20 years. In that case, it's Carnuba wax, I believe, and oil on a canvas material. It works REALLY well- ignores water like it wasn't there, and does the same for wind (I wore it once in Chicago, to give you an idea- no wind felt anywhere the coat covered.)

That said, I have also had some items in Gortex, and I would have to think that waxing Gortex would eliminate it's ability to breathe. Since this is the big selling point for Gortex, I don't think you'd want to do that.