My Inheritance (pictures added)

General discussions regarding topics that aren't covered in one of the other sub-forums. NO DISCUSSION OF POLITICS!

Moderators: ZS Global Moderators, ZS Postal Match Officers

BullOnParade
ZS Lifetime Member
ZS Lifetime Member

Post by BullOnParade » Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:08 pm

Alright, I'm guessing this is the best place, if a mod feels this belongs in "Initial Firearms Prepping", so be it.

I've been saying for a few months now "I'm inheriting my dad's guns soon," and I'm sure everyone's as tired of reading it as I am of typing it. But today waiting in the mail for me, was the final piece of paperwork saying I could legally transport the collection to my apartment.

So here's the backstory;

My parents divorced earlier than I can remember. My dad didn't have much involvement in my life, occasional visitations that he often skipped, and more than once, years of my childhood passed between me hearing from, or seeing him. As a preteen though, my dad shared a hobby with me and my younger half-brother, firearms. We would get up early in the morning, and spend the whole day at the range, just us guys. I remember around age 10 sitting around on some couches at the range listening as the members debated capital punishment, I wish they'd had a no politics rule :roll:. Spending father-son time at the range was great, but it didn't really make up for years of not seeing my dad.

By age 12, I'd written him off as a deadbeat. I was alright, after all, my mom remarried when I was 7, and my stepdad's been a great figure for me. I went through high school telling myself I would do everything I could not to turn out like him. I still wanted guns though, maybe I could just make it my thing, not let it be something he shared with me.